Posted by: nickrunner | January 2, 2009

Beach Bars of South America

Dino's Beach Bar in Tofu, Mozambique. The service is very slow, but I was never in a hurry, so it didn't matter all that much.

Dino's Beach Bar in Tofu, Mozambique. The service is very slow, but I was never in a hurry, so it didn't matter all that much.

I plan to write a book after my travels. I already have the title or subject, but don’t know yet what the content or format of the book will be.

The book will be about beach bars of South America. I chose this subject because, knowing myself, I will spend quite a lot of time in such establishments during my backpacking travels in South America from March to August this year. So I won’t have to go to much trouble to research the book!

The plan is just to gather data and then later decide what to make with it. I am thinking of building a spreadsheet with a grid: each bar that I visit will have a row, and the columns will consist of types of information, e.g.: name of the bar, location, what a beer costs, interesting items (food and drink) on the menu and maybe recipes for them, the name of the barman/woman, the life story of the barman/woman (if they volunteer it and if it is interesting), etc..

If a good idea for a book does not present itself during the travels, I will then decide afterwards what to do with the data. It could be anything from a coffee table book (I will try to take good pictures as well) to a travel guide (serious or tongue-in-cheek), to a collection of short stories or a novel set in beach bars in South America.

If anyone has any more ideas on how to approach this project, I will be very grateful if you could leave me a comment. Or mail me on bezuidenhout.nick@gmail.com .

 


Responses

  1. Nick – what a fantastic idea – beer AND travel, whats not to like?

    cheers, junior

  2. The tongue-in-the-cheek travel guide and the coffee table book have a lot of potential. You could even combine it into a tongue-in-the-cheek travel guide printed in a coffee table format.

    Include a few life stories of bar employees, a couple of short stories set in bars across South America and voila, you might just have created a new genre!

    You could call it The hitchhiker’s guide to South America and if you ask nicely you might even get Shapiro to draw you a few cartoons based on some photos and character sketches.

    The packaging is critical. You include a DVD with some cell phone video footage: nice scenery, interviews with interesting people and commentary by the author. Then you wrap the book in cellophane with the words “DVD included” on the front page.

  3. Since you already display remarable tongue in cheek abilities, I suggest you do short stories. Tell us the tales about the bars, the dances, music and of course the lovely Samba women (as long as you do not go the whole distance, you’ll be safe from her wrath!)

    I am already liking the blogspot and please keep posting these stories – they’re useful for armchair travellers like me!

    • Thanks Maneno. Regarding the samba women: 1. I am married. 2. Even if I were to kiss, I would never ever tell! 🙂

  4. good on you for answer no 1 nickaboy, as for answer no 2 – as your wife i will consider it most hypothetical but i appreciate the ethics


Categories